شركة الخليج لصناعة البتروكيماويات "جيبك"
المساهمين: 1. الشركة القابضة للنفط والغاز - مملكة البحرين (33.3%)
2. الشركة السعودية للصناعات الأساسية (سابك) - المملكة العربية السعودية (33.3%)
3. شركة صناعة الكيماويات البترولية – دولة الكويت (33.3%)
تاريخ التأسيس: كانون ثاني 1979
عدد الموظفين: 481
المكان: سترة ، مملكة البحرين

تأسست شركة الخليج لصناعة البتروكيماويات في ديسمبر 1979 كمشروع مشترك بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لصناعة الأسمدة والبتروكيماويات. وتعود ملكية المشروع المشترك مناصفة بين حكومة مملكة البحرين والشركة السعودية للصناعات الأساسية وشركة صناعة الكيماويات البترولية، الكويت.

تستخدم جيبك الغاز الطبيعي الذي يتوفر في البحرين كمادة وسيطة لإنتاج الأمونيا واليوريا والميثانول. بالإضافة إلى معامل الإنتاج، ومجمع البتروكيماويات، المقام في سترة على مساحة تبلغ 60 هكتارا، تضم المصانع والمرافق، وورش الصيانة والمكاتب والمخازن والمختبرات.

وتمتلك الشركة مجلس إدارة يضم ممثلين عن الدول المساهمة الثلاث. ويرأس مجلس الإدارة صاحب السعادة الدكتور أحمد علي الشريان ويرأس الإدارة التنفيذية للشركة الدكتور عبدالرحمن حسين جواهري.

وتعتبر الشركة نفسها انموذجا يحتذى به في مجال حماية البيئة وكانت أول شركة صناعية تستخدم مشاريع عملية لتثبت ان عمليات الانتاج فيها صديقة للبيئة. فشرعت بإنشاء مزرعة اسماك ،ومحمية للطيور، ومزارع النخيل وحديقة الأعشاب داخل المجمع .

وكانت تحديات تغير المناخ الإقليمي والعالمي دائما في طليعة استراتيجيات الشركة وكان هذا محورا رئيسيا لإدارة انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري، وقد باشرت الشركة مصنع أول أكسيد الكربون الاسترداد ، الاول من نوعه في الشرق الأوسط في عام 2010. المصنع يعالج 450 طن متري من ثاني أكسيد الكربون يوميا من غازات المداخن المهذبة ويحسن إلى حد كبير من انبعاثات الكربون.

IMG_7630.JPG

البتروكيماويات لديها نظام قوي في السلامة والصحة والإدارة البيئية معترف به دوليا. وقد فازت الشركة العديد من الجوائز من بينها جائزة السير جورج ايرل من المملكة المتحدة وجائزة روبرت كامبل من مجلس السلامة الوطني في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للتفوق في مجال نظم إدارة السلامة والبيئة.

من خلال فعالية هذه النظم الإدارية ، حصلت الشركة على العديد من شهادات الاعتماد بما في ذلك ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 18001. وكذلك حصلت الشركة على شهادة الاعتماد ISO 27001 التي تعنى بأمن وسلامة المعلومات، وادخلت ادارة سلامة العمليات الى منشاتها..

والشركة هي مساهم كبير في الاقتصاد الوطني لمملكة البحرين في أنشطتها، ممثلة شراء الغاز الطبيعي، وتوظيف وتدريب المواطنين البحرينيين، والاستفادة من المقاولين المحليين، واستهلاك الطاقة والعمليات المالية والتجارية الأخرى. وتضخ الشركة حوالي 271 مليون دولار سنويا في الاقتصاد.

Home > OUR COMPANY> Company Overview
Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company (GPIC)
Shareholders: 1. National Oil and Gas Authority (NOGA) Kingdom of Bahrain - (33.3%)
2. Saudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC) Kingdom of Saudi Arabia - (33.3%)
3. Petrochemical Industries Co. (PIC) State of Kuwait - (33.3%)
Date Incorporated: December 1979
No of Employees: 481
Principle Place of Business: Sitra, Kingdom of Bahrain

Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company was established in December 1979 as a joint venture between GCC member states for the manufacture of fertilizers and petrochemicals. The joint venture is equally owned by the Government of the Kingdom of Bahrain, Saudi Basic Industries Corporation and Petrochemical Industries Company, Kuwait.

GPIC uses natural gas which is readily available in Bahrain as a feedstock for the production of ammonia, urea and methanol. In addition to the production plants, the GPIC Complex, which was built in Sitra on a reclaimed area of 60 hectares, comprises utilities plants, maintenance workshops, offices, stores and laboratories.

The company has a Board of Directors comprising representatives of the three shareholding states. The Board of Directors is chaired by H.E. Dr. Ahmed Ali Al Sharyan. The company's Executive Management is led by Dr. Abdulrahman A. Hussain Jawahery, President.

 

GPIC considers itself a role model in the protection of the environment and was the first industrial company to use practical demonstration projects to verify the environmental credentials of its operations. A fish farm, bird sanctuary, palm tree plantations and herbal garden have been established at the GPIC site.

The challenges of regional and global climate change have always been at the forefront of GPIC’s strategies. It was with this key focus and, to manage green-house gas emissions, the Middle East's first Carbon Dioxide Recovery (CDR) plant was commissioned at GPIC in 2010. The unit captures 450 metric tonnes of carbon dioxide per day from the reformer flue gases and has substantially improved the carbon footprint.

IMG_7630.JPG

GPIC has a robust and internationally recognised Safety, Health and Environmental Management System. The company has won many accolades including the Sir George Earle Trophy from RoSPA, UK and the R.W. Campbell Award from the National Safety Council, USA for excellence in HSE management systems.


Through these effective management systems, the company has received many accreditations including ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 18001. These management systems have been fully integrated into our every-day operations. GPIC is also certified in ISO 27001 which deals with information security and has voluntarily embraced Process Safety Management (PSM) at its facilities.

The company is a significant contributor to the national economy of Bahrain in its activities, represented by natural gas purchases, employment and training of Bahraini nationals, utilisation of local contractors, power consumption and other financial and commercial operations. GPIC injects around US$271 million annually into the economy.