تلبية الطلب

محادثات مجموعة اكسفورد للأعمال لعبد الرحمن حسين جواهري ، المدير العام لشركة الخليج لصناعة البتروكيماويات (جيبك)

كيف يتأثر جيبك من التباطؤ في الطلب العالمي على البتروكيماويات؟

جواهري : إن العديد من مصانع البتروكيماويات في مختلف أنحاء العالم قد قامت بإيقاف الإنتاج أو الحد من قدرته وذلك لخفض مستويات المخزون بسبب ارتفاع تكاليف التشغيل. ومع ذلك ، لا يوجد لدى جيبك أي قلق للعام 2009. لقد خفضنا القدرة ولا نتوقع الحاجة إلى ذلك في المدى القصير على الأقل. وقد يعزى ذلك إلى عمليات فعالة من وحدات الإنتاج والالتزام برقابة صارمة على النفقات ، وبغض النظر عن التقلبات في أسعار المنتجات. كما أنه ليس هناك تأخير في خططنا التوسعية ، والتي هي قيد التنفيذ. على الرغم من أن جيبك تسعى بصورة فاعلة إلى إبقاء التكاليف عند الحد الأدنى ، فإنه لن يتم تقليل الوظائف ولا إحداث تغيير في الميزانية التشغيلية لعام 2009.

يدعي البعض أن الطلب على البتروكيماويات، وبخاصة تلك المنتجات التي تستخدم لإنتاج الأسمدة ، يكون مرهوناً بتحسن الأزمة المالية في حين أن الطلب على الغذاء لن ينخفض. على الرغم من أن الأخيرصحيح ، إلا إن ذلك يعتمد على توافر التسهيلات الائتمانية للمزارعين ومستوردي الأسمدة, فيما إذا كان الطلب المطرد على الغذاء سيؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب على البتروكيماويات. ونعتقد أنه يتعين على الحكومات أن تتخذ مبادرات لتأمين التمويل وضمان إنتاج الأغذية الوافرة.

وبنحو ما ، فإن الأزمة المالية تعود بالنفع على صناعة البتروكيماويات. فعلى مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، كانت الثروة الاقتصادية في بعض أجزاء العالم فقط لجذب مزيد من المؤسسات المالية التي غالبا ما تركز على تحقيق المكاسب المالية القصيرة الأجل بدلا من الاستدامة على المدى الطويل للصناعة. وهذا تطور غير مستقر ، ولا سيما في صناعتنا حيث ينبغي للوائح السلامة والصحة أن تكون دوما على رأس الأولويات. فمع تباطؤ الاقتصاد ، أتوقع مستقبلا جيدا لصناعة البتروكيماويات.

هل هناك مشكلة مع المواد الخام الأولية للعمليات ، وهل هناك خطط للتوسع؟

جواهري : على الرغم من أن جيبك تبحث حاليا عن فرص للتوسع ، فإن الصحيح أن معظم ما نحتاج إليه هو الوصول إلى المواد الخام التنافسية ، و ذلك نظرا لمحدودية الموارد في البحرين. وبالرغم من ذلك ، وعلى مدى العامين الماضيين تم إجراء عمليات استكشاف بحثاً عن حقول جديدة للنفط والغاز في مياهنا الإقليمية فضلا عن تعزيز الانتاج من الآبار الموجودة. وقد تم إبرام العقود بينما لا يزال العمل الجيولوجي والزلزالي جار. وبسبب التطورات الأخيرة في التكنولوجيا فإنه يمكن حفر آبار جديدة أكثر عمقا مما كانت عليه في الماضي. كما أن هناك برنامج لتعزيز استخراج النفط والذي يهدف الى زيادة الانتاج بمقدار 100 ٪ ليصل إلى 70000 برميل يوميا. وتحظى جيبك بالأولوية في تخصيص هذه الموارد الجديدة ، وتأمل الشركة في الاستفادة منها على مدى السنتين أو الثلاث القادمة.

على الرغم من ثقتي الكبيرة بالعثور على مزيد من النفط والغاز ، فإن جيبك مستعدة للوضع حيث يجب أن تحل الواردات محل الإنتاج المحلي. إن استيراد المواد الخام سيؤدي حتما إلى ارتفاع الأسعار ، وعلى الرغم من أن هامش الربح سيتعرض للخطر ، فلقد توصلنا إلى مكانة كبيرة للتعامل مع هذا. الأولوية في الوقت الراهن هي المحافظة على ما لدينا. وسوف يتم استخدام أية كميات إضافية من أجل توسيع نطاق القدرات الحالية.

ما هو الشكل الذي يرجح أن تتخذه صناعة البتروكيماويات نتيجة للتوحيد؟

جواهري : إن الاندماج بين منتجي البتروكيماويات أمر لا مفر منه ، والمحطات غير الاقتصادية ستبدل قريبا بأخرى أقل تكلفة. فالإتجاه النموذجي الذي يرجح أن نشهده هو تركز الإنتاج الأساسي والوسيط من البتروكيماويات في الشرق الأوسط ، ولا سيما في منطقة الخليج. حيث يتواجد حوالي 40 ٪ من احتياطي الغاز في العالم في حين نجد 9-10 ٪ فقط من الإنتاج العالمي في المنطقة. الجزء الكبير من الإنتاج العالمي لا يزال يأتي من الدول الغربية ، والتي غالبا ما تجد صعوبة أكثر في الوصول إلى الغاز. ستتحول هذه المناطق من الإنتاج الأساسي إلى التركيز على أنشطة تكون مواردها متاحة بسهولة أكثر مثل البحوث والتنمية.

Meeting the demand

OBG talks to Abdul Rahman A. Hussain Jawahery, President, Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company (GPIC)

How is GPIC being affected by a slowdown in world demand for petrochemicals?
JAWAHERY: Many petrochemical plants around the world are shutting down production or reducing capacity to reduce inventory levels due to high operating costs. However, GPIC has no concerns for 2009. We have reduced capacity and do not foresee the need to in the short term at least. This has been attributed to the effective operations of the production units and adherence to stringent control on expenditure, regardless of the volatility of product prices. Also, there is not delay in our expansion plans, which are under way. Although GPIC will actively seek to keep costs to a minimum, it will neither cut jobs, nor change the operational budget for 2009.

 



Some claim that demand for petrochemicals, largely used for production of fertilizers, is set to weather the financial crisis better than many other markets as demand for food will not decrease. Even though the latter is true, it is dependent on the availability of credit facilities for farmers and importers of fertilizer whether sustained demand for food will result into demand for petrochemicals. We believe it is up to governments to take initiatives to secure financing and safeguard ample food production.

In a way, the financial crisis is benefiting the petrochemicals industry. Over the past few years, economic wealth in some parts of the world had started to lure financial institutions more often focused on short-term financial gain than long-term sustainability to the industry. This is a precarious development, particularly in our industry where health and safety regulations should always be a top priority. With the economy slowing down, I foresee a good future for the petrochemical industry.

Is there a problem with feedstock for your operations, and are there plans for expansion?
JAWAHERY: Although GPIC is currently looking for expansion opportunities, it is true that what we need most is access to competitive feedstock, as Bahrain's resources are limited. However, over the past two years Bahrain has been actively exploring for new oil and gas fields in its territorial waters as well as enhancing the production of its existing wells. Contracts have been awarded and geological and seismic work is under way. Due to the recent advances in technology the new wells can drill deeper than in the past. There is also and enhanced oil recovery program under way. Which is aiming to increase output by 100% to 70,000 barrels per day. GPIC is a top priority in the allocation of these new resources and is hopeful to benefit from them over the course of the next two to three years.

Even though I am very confident that more oil and gas will be found, GPIC is prepared for the situation where imports would have to substitute domestic production. Importing feedstock would inevitably result in higher prices and, although our profit margins would be compromised, we have reached ample stature to deal with this. The priority for now is to sustain what we have. Any additional quantities will be used for expansion of current capacities.

What shape is the petrochemicals industry likely to take as a result of consolidation?
JAWAHERY: Consolidation among producers of petrochemicals is inevitable, and uneconomical plants will soon give way to the more cost-effective ones. A typical trend we are likely to see is the concentration of basic and intermediate production of petrochemicals in the Middle East, particularly in the Gulf. Around 40% of the world's gas reserves are located here, yet a mere 9-10% of worldwide production is realized in the region. A substantial part of global production still comes from Western countries, which often have more difficult access to gas. These areas will shift away from basic production and focus on activities for which the resources are more readily available, for example research and development.